The ACM Europe Policy Committee (EUACM) is a standing committee of the ACM Europe Council, which has 23 members from the European Computer Science academic and practitioner community and is currently chaired by Wendy Hall. EUACM is currently chaired by Fabrizio Gagliardi and is composed of a subset of the ACM Europe Council and some additional experts and one full-time research assistant.

ACM Europe is a legal entity registered as a not-for-profit in Brussels. EUACM is registered in the transparency register of the European Commission (EC) to participate in stakeholder consultations with full visibility and transparency.

Fabrizio and other EUACM members have been meeting in the first few months of existence of EUACM with officials from the European Commission, particularly in the areas of technology, communications, research and development, education, e-government, and investment in innovation.

As an important result of the first activity, the EC has requested a list of ACM experts to serve as reviewers and evaluators of their 80 B € Horizon 2020 framework research programme. Additionally some of the EUACM members have been invited to consult with the Commission on subjects such as IT skills for industry. An area where the EUACM opinion will be requested is on the European Digital single market.

The European Commission’s Digital Single Market strategy is one of 10 policy priorities. It aims to provide a single digital marketplace within the EU, support infrastructure development, and ensure that investments promote innovation, including cloud computing and Big Data. As part of this strategy the EU is considering copyright reforms. At the suggestion of the European Commission, EUACM is exploring the possibility of writing a position paper on “Copyright Text and Data Mining.”

To increase visibility with those parts of the European Commission not yet covered, EUACM is exploring holding a wider policy event in Brussels in the near future open to the public and media. EUACM is considering whether to partner with industry and other potential sponsors. Possible topics include: education, inclusion, ethics, copyright, privacy, and computing research. The group continues to discuss the focus and scope of the event.

EUACM Committee:

Chair: Fabrizio Gagliardi


  • Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis
  • Michel Beaudouin-Lafon
  • Hervé Bourlard
  • Michel Yves Cosnard
  • Panagiota Fatourou
  • Judith Gal-Ezer
  • Oliver Grau
  • Wendy Hall
  • Chris Hankin
  • Paola Inverardi
  • Joaquim Jorge
  • Andrew McGettrick
  • Leszek Pacholski
  • Gerhard Schimpf
  • Paul Spirakis
  • Jeremy Epstein (representative from USACM)
  • Stuart Shapiro (representative from USACM)
  • Bobby Schnabel (ACM CEO)
  • Pat Ryan (ACM COO)
  • Renee Dopplick (ACM Director of Public Policy)
  • Mireya García de Murcia (Research Assistant)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *